Log in
Log in

Nominations for 2024 are now closed.

We honor women of Steele County in three different categories. Below is the criteria for each:

1. Woman of Achievement

Purpose of the Award:
To honor business and professional women living or working in Steele County who have distinguished themselves in their careers and impacted our community. A panel of independent and impartial judges chooses a final recipient.

Criteria for Woman of Achievement Nominee:

  • Nominees should live and/or work in the Owatonna and Steele County community and represent the mission of the Owatonna Business Women to promote personal empowerment, professional development and political awareness.
  • Nominees do not need to be a current/former member of the Owatonna Business Women.

    2. Young Careerist

    Purpose of the Award:
    The Young Careerist Award is presented to a young business woman of Steele County for her accomplishments thus far in her career and highlights the promise she shows in her future endeavors.

    3. Lifetime Achievement

    Purpose of the Award:
    The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a woman of Steele County over the age of 60 who by her perseverance and leadership carved significant footprints in the community and world at large. By doing so she created positive role models for women coming after her.

    Nominees for all three awards should demonstrate success and/or have an impact in some or all of the following areas:

    • Successful achievement in their career.
    • Assistance to others in their careers; or assistance to youth and young careerists.
    • Volunteer effort in service/professional organizations.
    • Public policy activity, empowerment or awareness particularly on behalf of women/family issues in the workplace.
    • Other leadership roles within the community.

    A panel of 3 judges helps determine the Woman of Achievement award winner; however, the information on the nomination form helps us narrow the field of candidates to approximately five final nominees prior to judging. The information that you provide is helpful in the initial phase and for contacting the nominee.

    Click here to navigate to the nominations form!

    Questions? You can contact the Woman of Achievement Nominations committee at


    2024 Young Careerist Award Recipient: Tess Brown

    2024 Lifetime Achievement Recipient: Linda Breyer

    Contact Owatonna Business Women
    PO Box 942, Owatonna, MN 55060-0942

    © 2020 Owatonna Business Women
    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software